© 2024 Cincinnati Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Here's who won seats on the Board of Education for Cincinnati Public Schools

Clockwise from top left: Brandon Craig; Kareen Moffett; Mary Wineberg; Mike Moroski
Courtesy of the candidates
Collage by Jennifer Merritt
Clockwise from top left: Brandon Craig; Kareen Moffett; Mary Wineberg; Mike Moroski

Cincinnati Public Schools will have three new board members in January following Tuesday's election.

Mary Wineberg, Kareem Moffett and Brandon Craig were the top vote getters, along with incumbent Mike Moroski. Moroski is the lone incumbent to retain his position after candidate and current CPS Board Member Pamela Bowers finished fifth, losing her seat on the board come January.

Wineberg emerged as the top vote getter with more than 35,000, which left her with a feeling of pride Tuesday evening.

"I'm excited to go out and prove to them that I can be the leader and I can be the board member that they want and they elected me to be," Wineberg said.

She says she looks forward to helping the district select its next superintendent and collaborating with the other new board members. Wineberg has worked as an educator for over a decade. She attended Walnut Hills High School, and then earned degrees at the University of Cincinnati and Mount Saint Joseph University. In 2008, Wineberg won a gold medal in the 4x400 meter relay at the Summer Olympics in Beijing, becoming the University of Cincinnati’s first African American woman to win a gold medal.

Incumbent board member Mike Moroski addresses supporters at Arnold's Bar and Grill during an election watch party.
Cory Sharber
Incumbent board member Mike Moroski addresses supporters at Arnold's Bar and Grill during an election watch party.

Mike Moroski emerged as the only incumbent to retain his position. As the current chair of the Policy and Equity Committee, he's looking forward to continuing his work, noting the impact the new members will have going forward, specifically the ongoing COVID-19 vaccine mandate discussions.

"If it gets voted, which I think it will ultimately, I don't think it's going to happen under this current board," Moroski said. "I think it's going to happen under the new board."

He says the board has a plan to help the new members transition as they'll be taking part in selecting a new superintendent. Moroski has been serving on the Cincinnati Public Schools Board of Education since 2018. He's received degrees from both Xavier University and the University of Notre Dame. He currently works at the Human Services Chamber of Hamilton County and serves as a trustee for Camp Joy. He's previously served as the executive director of UpSpring; as a teacher at Moeller High School; and as assistant principal at Purcell Marian High School.

Kareem Moffett shares a hug with a supporter following the election results Tuesday night.
Cory Sharber
Kareem Moffett shares a hug with a supporter following the election results Tuesday night.

Kareem Moffett emerged as the third leading vote getter. Moffett says she's looking forward to working on connecting the students and the community with the school board.

"All of our schools have magnificent greatness in them and I want to help the community see that and help our kids see that too," Moffett said.

She previously ran in 2017. Moffett has worked as a chemist, an academic advisor and as director of diversity programs and services at Ursuline Academy of Cincinnati. She attended the University of Cincinnati, earning a Ph.D. in educating urban African American students. Within Cincinnati Public Schools, Moffett taught math and science at John P. Parker School and South Avondale School. Along with teaching math and science at Withrow High School, she also taught 10th grade geophysics.

Brandon Craig will also be on the school board next year. He has not replied to WVXU's requests for interviews. On Wednesday, he thanked the Good Government Group on Twitter for their help during his campaign.

"Thank you to the volunteers, supports, and people who voted for me this year," Craig said on Twitter. "I am so honored the voters have entrusted me with this great privilege. I do not take my responsibility lightly. I will continue to be a Voice for our Future. Thank you from the bottom of my heart."

Craig attended Walnut Hills High School before graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics from UC and Juris Doctor from the UC College of Law. Previously, he's worked in the Public Affairs Office and the General Counsel's Office at Cincinnati Public Schools. Recently, Craig has worked for Housing Opportunities Made Equal of Greater Cincinnati and the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access at the University of Cincinnati.

Pamela Bowers did not retain her spot on the Board of Education, finishing fifth in voting. She has been on the board since 2019. In an emailed statement Wednesday morning, Bowers thanked her supporters and the board members she's served with over the years.

"I am humbled by the level of support I received from the almost 18,500 voters who were confident in Bowers for the School Board Campaign," Bowers said. "I am grateful for the endorsements of the AFL-CIO, CFT/CFOP, AFSCME-Ohio, Cincinnati Women's Political Caucus, LiUNA!265, The Matriots. To my husband, family and friends, thank you for your unyielding support, time and encouragement during this entire experience. To my fellow board members, it has been an honor working with a such a gifted group of educational leaders who have been as committed as I am in making good decisions for students. I am prepared to work with the elected Members of the Board of Education of Cincinnati Public Schools as they transition into their new roles. Congratulations to Mary, Brandon, Kareem and Mike as they lead our school district to the next level."

Current Board Vice President Ryan Messer and Board Member Melanie Bates elected not to run for another term. Board President Carolyn Jones and members Eve Bolton and Ben Lindy's terms don't expire until Dec. 31, 2024.

Candidates ran on platforms including the district's response to COVID-19, transportation and students' learning loss.

Below are the results of Tuesday's election via the Hamilton County Board of Elections (winners in bold):

Bowers- 11.94%
Craig- 18.88%
Gary Favors- 7.77%
Moffett- 18.92%
Moroski- 19.47%
Wineberg- 23.03%

This story has been updated.

Cory Sharber attended Murray State University majoring in journalism and political science and comes to Cincinnati Public Radio from NPR Member station WKMS.