Local House members vote no on fiscal cliff bill

Jan 2, 2013

Four southwest Ohio, eastern Indiana and northern Kentucky U.S. House members voted "no" late Tuesday night on the bill to avert the nation falling over the "fiscal cliff."

Rep. Steve Chabot, R-Westwood; Rep. Jean Schmidt, R-Miami Township; Rep. Thomas Massie, R-Lewis County; and Rep. Mike Pence, R-Columbus, Ind. bucked the party leadership on the bill that would raise the income tax rate for individuals making over $450,000 a year and extended unemployment benefits for the long-term unemployed by one year.

The bill easily passed the Senate, with both Ohio senators, Democrat Sherrod Brown and Republican Rob Portman, voting in favor, as did Senate minority leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky, who was a key player in negotiating the compromise legislation.

Kentucky's junior senator, Rand Paul, was one of eight senators voting against it.

Chabot, Schmidt, Pence and Massie were among 151 of the House's 242 Republicans who voted no. The bill passed the House late last night by a vote of 257-167.

You can read Chabot's explanation of why he voted again the deal here.