book review

Book review: "Mister Owita's Guide to Gardening"

Mar 14, 2014

Kelly Blewett has a review of the personal new book from author Carol Wall, Mister Owita’s Guide to Gardening: How I Learned the Unexpected Joy of a Green Thumb and an Open Heart.

Book review: "The Aviator's Wife"

Mar 7, 2014

Our Kelly Blewett has a review of the book The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin.

Book review: "The Monuments Men"

Feb 28, 2014

George Clooney’s new movie, The Monuments Men, is based on a book by the same name by author Robert Edsel. Our Kelly Blewett has a review of the book about this unique art salvation mission during WWII.

Book review: "The Longest Day: Life as a Wife"

Feb 14, 2014

Kelly Blewett has a review of the new memoir The Longest Date: Life as a Wife, written by Emmy and Golden Globe award-winning writer of TV shows like Sex and the City and Modern Family, Cindy Chupack. Her personal, and often comical, story of two marriages and the challenges of matrimony, has already been optioned by Fox TV as a possible series.

Book review: "One Summer: America, 1927"

Jan 31, 2014

Kelly Blewett has a review of Bill Bryson’s newest book, a look back at an amazing few months that features such names as Al Capone, Charles Lindbergh and Babe Ruth called One Summer: America, 1927.

Book review: "The Signature of All Things"

Jan 3, 2014

Kelly Blewett has a review of the new book from author Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) entitled The Signature of All Things.

Kelly Blewett has a review of the holiday installment of Shelly Shepard Gray’s Secrets of Crittenden County book series, this one is entitled Peace: A Crittenden County Christmas Novel.

Book review: "Six Months Later"

Nov 29, 2013

Our Kelly Blewett has a review of Six Months Later, the newest novel from author Natalie D. Richards.

Book review: "Are You Mine"

Nov 1, 2013

Kelly Blewett has a review of local author N.K. Smith’s newest novel, Are You Mine?

Roberta Schultz has a review of George Ella Lyon’s newest book, Many-Storied House: Poems (Kentucky Voices).

In time for Halloween season, Roberta Schultz reviews the new book Kentucky Hauntings: Homespun Ghost Stories and Unexplained History by Roberta Simpson Brown and Lonnie E. Brown.

Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

Oct 13, 2013
Provided

Book review: "Archangel"

Sep 20, 2013

Our Kelly Blewett has a review of the new novel Archangel from National Book Award winner Andrea Barrett.

Book review: The Light Between Oceans

Aug 16, 2013

Our newest contributor, Kelly Blewett, has a review of the bestselling novel (now out in paperback) The Light Between Oceans by ML Stedman. The author will be appearing at Joseph Beth Booksellers at Rookwood on August 19 for a reading and signing.

Book review: "Kentucky's Frontier Highway"

Jun 28, 2013

Roberta Schultz has a review of the new book Kentucky’s Frontier Highway: Historical Landscapes Along the Maysville Road, by Karl Raitz and Nancy O’Malley and released by University Press of Kentucky.

"Appalachian Toys and Games from A to Z"

May 10, 2013

Our Roberta Schultz has a review of the fascinating new book, Appalachian Toys and Games from A to Z by Linda Hager Park and Pat Banks, published by University Press of Kentucky.

Book Review: "Come In, We're Closed"

Jan 18, 2013

Our David Delegator has a review of a new book that is, in many ways, a food lover’s dream. Called Come In, We're Closed: An Invitation to Staff Meals at the World's Best Restaurants, it takes readers behind the locked doors of some of the world’s finest restaurants to see what the most acclaimed chefs whip up just for the staff meals. Nothing off the menu, this is when the chefs test and create some amazing and unique dishes.


Our Jane Durrell has a review of the dynamic, thought provoking book Glittering Images: A Journey Through Art from Egypt to Star Wars by acclaimed cultural critic Camille Paglia.


Our Mark Heyne, an avowed baseball (and Reds) fan, reviews the new Sports Illustrated Kids Full Count: Top 10 Lists of Everything in Baseball, which provides the youngest fan with lots of fun information about America’s Pastime. For Reds fans, the book lists Aroldis Chapman as one of baseball’s top 3 hardest throwers and Pete Rose in two of its lists: top leadoff hitters and top unbreakable records for his 4,256 hits. 


Book Review: Top 100 step-by-step Napkin Folds

Dec 14, 2012

David Delegator has a review of a book that every party-giver, event organizer, restaurant owner, and caterer should have. Denise Vivaldo has catered over 10,000 events, including the Academy Awards Governor’s Ball, and she has assembled Top 100 Step-by-Step Napkin Folds: More than 1,000 Photographs.


Pages