© 2022 Cincinnati Public Radio
Connecting You to a World of Ideas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
For more than 30 years, John Kiesewetter has been the source for information about all things in local media – comings and goings, local people appearing on the big or small screen, special programs, and much more. Local media is still his beat and he’s bringing his interest, curiosity, contacts and unique style to Cincinnati Public Radio and 91.7 WVXU. Contact John at johnkiese@yahoo.com.

WUBE-FM Wins 2 Country Music Association Awards

B105 Facebook page

Congratulations to WUBE-FM, which brought home two CMA Broadcast Awards awards from the 50th annual Country Music Association Awards Wednesday night.

B105 was honored as large market "station of the year " for the third time in eight years (2009, 2012, 2016) by the CMA. The finalists were WCOL-FM in Columbus, and stations in Raleigh-Durham, NC; Providence, RI; and Orlando, FL.

"The Big Dave Show" morning team – Dave Chandler, Chelsie Shinkle and Jason Statt – won large market "personality of the year."

B105's previous morning team also won an award at KEEY-FM in Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn. "Chris Carr & Company," with Chris Carr and Clermont County native Jeff "Maverick" Bolen, was named major market "personality of the year." When Carr and former traffic reporter Maverick left B105 in 2014 to do mornings at KEEY-FM, B105 moved "Big Dave and Chelsie" from afternoon to morning drive with Statt.

"Big Dave and Chelsie" won the Academy of Country Music large market "personality of the year" award in 2013. Chandler, a Tennessee native, came here in 1998 to work for country WYGY-FM. Shinkle, an Aurora native, started as a B105 traffic reporter.

The "Carr" show won the CMA large market personality of the year award at WUBE-FM in 2012.

Here s the list of all CMA Broadcast Awards winners