Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
For more than 30 years, John Kiesewetter has been the source for information about all things in local media — comings and goings, local people appearing on the big or small screen, special programs, and much more. Contact John at

Congrats To My Fellow WVXU News Staffers

wvxu news team
Ronny Salerno
The WVXU news team, from left: Michael Monks, Ilyce Meckler, Howard Wilkinson, Maryanne Zeleznik, Jennifer Merritt, Jay Hanselman, Tana Weingartner, Bill Rinehart, Ann Thompson, Ambriehl Crutchfield, and Selena Reder.

Congratulations to Tana Weingartner, Ambriehl Crutchfield, News Director Maryanne Zeleznik and the rest of the WVXU news staff for their awards from the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors Broadcast Competition.

Weingartner won two AP honors, for best feature reporting (for "Five Years After Oil Spill, Public Gets Look at Oak Glen Nature Preserve") and second place for best use of sound (for "Miami Offers College 'Threshold Choir' to Soothe Hospice Patients").

Crutchfield, who joined the WVXU news team a year ago, was honored for the best enterprise reporting in Ohio radio (for "How 'Revitalization' Erodes Black Neighborhoods and Communities").

Morning Edition host Zeleznik won second place for best anchor/news host. WVXU also placed second in the "best newscast" category to Dayton's WHIO-AM/FM for its newscast the morning after the Memorial Day tornado outbreak.

"We're proud of the work of the entire WVXU news team, and appreciate this recognition from the Ohio AP. That said, we are even more proud of the work the team is doing now, providing accurate and timely news to the public during this pandemic," said Richard Eiswerth, Cincinnati Public Radio president and CEO.

Editor's note: John Kiesewetter's reporting is independent. This content has only been edited by WVXU for grammar and spelling.

John Kiesewetter, who has covered television and media for more than 35 years, has been working for Cincinnati Public Radio and WVXU-FM since 2015.