Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
0000017a-3b40-d913-abfe-bf44a4f90000Howard Wilkinson joined the WVXU news team as the politics reporter and columnist in April 2012 , after 30 years of covering local, state and national politics for The Cincinnati Enquirer. On this page, you will find his weekly column, Politically Speaking; the Monday morning political chats with News Director Maryanne Zeleznik and other news coverage by Wilkinson. A native of Dayton, Ohio, Wilkinson has covered every Ohio gubernatorial race since 1974, as well as 16 presidential nominating conventions. Along with politics, Wilkinson also covered the 2001 Cincinnati race riots, the Lucasville prison riot in 1993, the Air Canada plane crash at Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport in 1983, and the 1997 Ohio River flooding. And, given his passion for baseball, you might even find some stories about the Cincinnati Reds here from time to time.

Carran And Meyer Will Face Off For Covington Mayor; Eight To Run For City Commission

  A veteran state legislator and the incumbent moved on in Tuesday's Covington mayoral primary to face each other in November.

Joe Meyer, a former state representative and senator who worked in former Gov. Steve Beshear's cabinet, came in first with 47 percent of the vote in a field of four candidates for mayor, according to the Kenton County Clerk's office.

Sherry Carran, who was first elected to the city commission in 2007 and became the city's first female  mayor in 2013, finished second with 40 percent of the vote.

Carran and Meyer will now face each other in November

Two other mayoral candidates, Matthew Winkler and Alfonse Mele, finished out of the running with 10 percent and 3 percent of the vote respectively.

In the 10-candidate field for city commission, two candidates were eliminated – Brandon Mims and Clayton Shull.

The top eight finishers will move on to the November election, with four to be elected.  They are incumbents Jordan Huizenga and Bill Wells, along with challengers Michelle Williams, Tim Downing, Christi Blair, John Flesch, Robert Horine, and Stuart Warren.

Two incumbent city commissioners are not running for relection – Steve Frank and Chuck Eilerman.

Howard Wilkinson is in his 50th year of covering politics on the local, state and national levels.