© 2023 Cincinnati Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WLWT-TV, WCPO-TV, WHIO-TV Win Edward R. Murrow Awards

Courtesy WLWT-TV

Prestigious Edward R. Murrow Awards for outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism were announced Tuesday for WLWT-TV, WCPO-TV and Dayton's WHIO-TV.

WLWT-TV (Channel 5) was honored for breaking news coverage of the deadly tornado outbreak over Memorial Day weekend last year in Dayton and Southwest Ohio for large market TV stations in Region 7.

The Radio Television Digital News Directors (RTDNA) presented its inaugural award for best podcast in Region 7 to WCPO-TV (Channel 9) for The Who: The Night That Changed Rock, related to Tanya O'Rourke's one-hour TV documentary about the 1979 Who concert tragedy.

WHIO-TV (Channel 7) won two Murrow Awards for small market TV stations in Region 7 – for breaking news coverage for the Oregon District mass shooting last August, and for excellent writing for "Making A Difference: Helping Strangers."

"It’s an incredible honor to be recognized with one of the most prestigious awards in journalism,” said News Director Jeff Benscoter in the WLWT-TV announcement. "We know how important breaking news is to our viewers, and I am proud of our entire WLWT News 5 Team for literally delivering life-saving information during and following this devastating tornado outbreak."

Mike Canan, WCPO-TV senior director of local media content, said that "The Who: The Night That Changed Rock was an incredible piece of reporting and journalism. I’m so proud of our team for this work. The podcast version was a unique and dramatic project. It was one of the most impactful ways to experience this compelling story."

The RTDNA has presented awards named after Murrow, an iconic CBS Newsman in the 1940s and 1950s, since 1971. See the full list here.

John Kiesewetter, who has covered television and media for more than 35 years, has been working for Cincinnati Public Radio and WVXU-FM since 2015.