© 2022 Cincinnati Public Radio
Connecting You to a World of Ideas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
For more than 30 years, John Kiesewetter has been the source for information about all things in local media – comings and goings, local people appearing on the big or small screen, special programs, and much more. Local media is still his beat and he’s bringing his interest, curiosity, contacts and unique style to Cincinnati Public Radio and 91.7 WVXU. Contact John at johnkiese@yahoo.com.

WUBE-FM's Jesse & Amanda Nominated For CMA Broadcast Award

WUBE-FM afternoon hosts Amanda Valentine and Jesse Tack

Congratulations to WUBE-FM's afternoon drive hosts Jesse Tack and Amanda Valentine on their first nomination for a Country Music Association Broadcast Award.

The Broadcast Award nominees were announced along with nominees for the "51st Annual CMA Awards" to air live on ABC on Nov. 8 (8-11 p.m., Channel 9, ABC). Miranda Lambert received five CMA nominations for single, song, album and video of the year, plus best female vocalist. Little Big Town and Keith Urban each earned four nominations.

Amanda & Jesse (3-7 p.m. weekdays on B105.1) are one of six nominees for "large market personality of the year." Their competition includes two shows from WCOL-FM in Columbus: Woody Johnson and the Wake-Up Call morning team and "Boxing" Brandon Nasby.  Also up for the award are Lois Lewis from KWNR-FM in Las Vegas; the Randy, Jamie and Jojo Show at KAJA-FM in San Antonio; and Tige and Daniel from WSIX-FM in Nashville.

Earning a medium market personality of the year nomination was Dayton's WHKO-FM "New Country Mornings" team of Nancy Wilson and James Frye.  "Officer" Don Evans and DeAnn Stephens at WBUL-FM in Lexington, KY, were among the small market personality of the year nominees.

WCOL-FM was the only station in our region nominated for station of the year.

Tack was B105's popular evening DJ until August 2014, when he moved to afternoon drive. He replaced Big Dave and Chelsea, who took over mornings when Chris Carr left the station. Tack worked for sister Wolf country (WYGY-FM, 97.3) until switching to B105 about 10 years ago.

WUBE-FM won two CMA Broadcast awards last year – for large market station  of the year and for the "Big Dave Show" as large market personality of the year – making them ineligible to enter this year. B105 also won the CMA station of the year in 1998, 2009 and 2012.

"We could not be prouder of Amanda and Jesse," said Patti Marshall, operations manager of Hubbard Interactive Cincinnati, in a media release. "B105 has a rich history of personalities who have been nominated for this award. Amanda and Jesse are now deservedly a part of this family tradition."

Here are links to the complete list of CMA nominees and and CMA Broadcast nominees.

Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood will host ABC's "CMA Awards" telecast for a 10th year.

John Kiesewetter joined the WVXU news team as a TV/Media blogger on July 1 2015, after nearly 30 years covering local and national broadcasting for The Cincinnati Enquirer. He’ll be posting news about Greater Cincinnati TV, radio and movies; updating your favorite former local TV/radio personalities or stars who grew up here; and breaking news about national TV, radio and media trends. You’ll also learn about Cincinnati’s rich broadcasting history.