© 2021 Cincinnati Public Radio
Connecting You to a World of Ideas
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
0000017a-3b40-d913-abfe-bf44a4f90000Howard Wilkinson joined the WVXU news team as the politics reporter and columnist in April 2012 , after 30 years of covering local, state and national politics for The Cincinnati Enquirer. On this page, you will find his weekly column, Politically Speaking; the Monday morning political chats with News Director Maryanne Zeleznik and other news coverage by Wilkinson. A native of Dayton, Ohio, Wilkinson has covered every Ohio gubernatorial race since 1974, as well as 16 presidential nominating conventions. Along with politics, Wilkinson also covered the 2001 Cincinnati race riots, the Lucasville prison riot in 1993, the Air Canada plane crash at Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport in 1983, and the 1997 Ohio River flooding. And, given his passion for baseball, you might even find some stories about the Cincinnati Reds here from time to time.

Three Open Cincinnati Council Seats Attract 23 Candidates

Ann Thompson

Cincinnati voters will choose from among 23 candidates for nine seats on Cincinnati City Council in the November election.

There will be three open seats in this election – those of Republican Charlie Winburn, who is term-limited out; Democrat Yvette Simpson, who is running for mayor; and Kevin Flynn of the Charter Committee, who decided not to run for re-election.

That, of course, means there will be at least three new members of council after this election.

The Hamilton County Board of Elections finished checking candidates' petitions Tuesday, and will formally certify them for the ballot Wednesday.

Four would-be candidates – Theo Barnes, Herschal Chalk Jr., Peterson W. Mingo, and Beverly J. Odoms – failed to make the ballot because they did not have the required 500 signatures of Cincinnati voters.

The city council election is non-partisan, as is the mayor's race. No party designations will appear on the ballot.

But the city's three major political parties – the Democratic Party, the Republican Party, and the Charter Committee – endorse slates of candidates who they promote.

The candidates on the ballot include six incumbents – Democrats David Mann, Chris Seelbach, Wendell Young and P.G. Sittenfeld; one Republican, Amy Murray; and one independent, Christopher Smitherman.

The Democrats have also endorsed non-incumbents Ozie Davis, Tamaya Dennard, Lesley Jones, Michelle Dillingham, and Greg Landsman.

The Republican Party has endorsed Murray, and newcomers Jeff Pastor and Seth Maney.

The Charter Committee endorses its own candidates along with giving endorsements to candidates of other parties. This year, Charterites have endorsed Derek Bauman and Henry Frondorf, along with Democrats Mann and Dennard, and Republican Murray.

The candidates running without endorsements from the Democrats, Republicans or Charter Committee are Laure Quinlivan, Tamie Sullivan, Kelli Prather, Tonya Dumas, Brian Garry, Manuel Foggie, Cristina Burcica, and Erica L. Black-Johnson.

Gwen Marshall, co-chair of the Hamilton County Green Party, said her party has issued endorsements to two council challengers, Sullivan and Garry, and one incumbent, Smitherman.