Where To Recyle Unwanted Holiday Lights In Ohio, Kentucky And Indiana

Nov 8, 2020

There is at least one bright spot to 2020: More residents across Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky have the opportunity to drop off broken or unwanted holiday lights for free recycling this year.

Cohen Recycling has greatly expanded its holiday light recycling program it first started with Hamilton County's Great Parks six years ago.

"We're nearing 40 drop-offs across the Tri-State, which is really exciting to see," says Cohen spokesperson Nick Oldfield.

Last year the program expanded into Butler and Montgomery counties; this year it welcomes drop-off locations in Campbell County, Kentucky, and Dearborn in Indiana, as well as a host of others.

While Hamilton County is the only one receiving a matching grant on the dollar value of donations this year, Oldfield said that could change in the future.

"Scaling the program is in pilot mode," he says. "Year 1 is kind of a test to see the reaction."

Still, other participating counties won't walk away empty-handed – they'll receive the cash value of their respective collections.

What You Need To Know Before You Drop-Off

Collection is Nov. 1, 2020, through Feb. 1, 2021, and during park or business hours. Oldfield says most bins will be under a shelter and there should be signage to direct you. If you have trouble, he adds that all participating locations are aware of the program so an employee should be able to help.

All kinds of string lights are accepted, including traditional and LED-style bulbs. "Regardless of the type of bulb, we can recycle the plastic," Oldfield says.

But this is a "string only" event – meaning all other kinds of holiday lights, such as light projectors and lighted inflatables, can instead be dropped off at a Cohen Recycling Center for disposal.

Most important is "to bring them loose," Oldfield says. That means do not drop off lights in boxes or bags, as that will only slow down the recycling process.

Where To Take Your Lights

If you can't find a location near you within this expansion, Oldfield says you can go to any Cohen Recycling location and drop-off any unwanted lights.

In Ohio

Butler County

Voice of America MetroPark
7850 VOA Park Drive

Rentschler Forest MetroPark
5701 Reigart Road

Forest Run MetroPark
1976 Timberman Road

Elk Creek MetroPark
5101 Circle Parkway

Clermont County

Shor Park
4659 Tealtown Road

Pierce Township Adminstative Office
950 Locust Corner Road

Cincinnati Nature Center
Rowe Woods Visitor Center
4949 Tealtown Road

Clermont County Fairgrounds
1000 Locust Street

Clermont County Water Resources
4400 Haskell Lane

Greene County

Greene County Environmental Services
2145 Green Way Blvd.

Hamilton County

Farbach-Werner Nature Preserve
3455 Poole Road

Glenwood Gardens
10397 Springfield Pike

Miami Whitewater Forest
9001 Mt. Hope Road

Sharon Woods
11450 Lebanon Road

Winton Woods
10245 Winton Road

Woodland Mound
8250 Old Kellogg Road

Montgomery County

2nd Street Market
600 E. Second Street

Wegerzyn Gardens MetroPark
1301 E. Siebenthaler Avenue

Wesleyan MetroPark – Adventure Central
2222 N. James H. McGee Blvd.

Carriage Hill MetroPark
7800 E. Shull Road

Sugarcreek MetroPark
4178 Conference Road

Possum Creek MetroPark
4790 Frytown Road

Preble County

Preble County Sanitary Landfill
4239 US 127 South

Warren County

Warren County Adminsistration Building
406 Justice Drive

Armco Park
1223 OH-741

Landen Deerfield Park
2258 US-22

Franklin Township Administration Building
418 Fairview Drive

Franklin Township Fire Station #19
3773 Robinson-Vail Road

Deerfield Township Administion Office
4900 Parkway Drive

Deerfield Township Fire Station #57
3435 US Route 22 & 3

Mason Community Center
6050 Mason Montgomery Road

Springboro Admin Building
320 W. Central Avenue

Springboro Performing Arts Center
115 Wright Station Way

Hamilton Township Administration Building
7780 S. State Route 48

City of Franklin
1 Benjamin Franklin Way

In Kentucky

Campbell County

Campbell County Administration Building
1st Floor Lobby
1098 Monmouth Street

Campbell County Clerk's Office
Upper Level Entrance
8330 W. Main Street

In Indiana

Dearborn County

Dearborn County Recycling Center
10700 Prospect Lane

This article was first published on Oct. 30, 2020.