Congrats To My Fellow WVXU News Staffers

Mar 27, 2020

Congratulations to Tana Weingartner, Ambriehl Crutchfield, News Director Maryanne Zeleznik and the rest of the WVXU news staff for their awards from the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors Broadcast Competition.

Weingartner won two AP honors, for best feature reporting (for "Five Years After Oil Spill, Public Gets Look at Oak Glen Nature Preserve") and second place for best use of sound (for "Miami Offers College 'Threshold Choir' to Soothe Hospice Patients").

Crutchfield, who joined the WVXU news team a year ago, was honored for the best enterprise reporting in Ohio radio (for "How 'Revitalization' Erodes Black Neighborhoods and Communities").

Morning Edition host Zeleznik won second place for best anchor/news host. WVXU also placed second in the "best newscast" category to Dayton's WHIO-AM/FM for its newscast the morning after the Memorial Day tornado outbreak.

"We're proud of the work of the entire WVXU news team, and appreciate this recognition from the Ohio AP. That said, we are even more proud of the work the team is doing now, providing accurate and timely news to the public during this pandemic," said Richard Eiswerth, Cincinnati Public Radio president and CEO.

Editor's note: John Kiesewetter's reporting is independent. This content has only been edited by WVXU for grammar and spelling.