Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
For more than 30 years, John Kiesewetter has been the source for information about all things in local media — comings and goings, local people appearing on the big or small screen, special programs, and much more. Contact John at

Jeff & Jenn, WKRQ-FM, WUBE-FM, WHIO-AM Marconi Award Finalists

Sister stations WKRQ-FM and WUBE-FM, and the Q102 Jeff & Jenn morning team, find out Oct. 1 if they win a prestigious Marconi Award from the National Association of Broadcasters.

Jeff Thomas, Jenn Jordan and Jennifer Fritch are nominated for Large Market Personality of the Year, while their station, WKRQ-FM is up for Large Market Station of the Year. WUBE-FM, down the hall at Hubbard’s Reading Road studios, is one of five nominees for Country Station of the year.

The only other area finalists are:

Dayton’s WHIO-AM is a finalist for Legendary Station, the highest honor, with Philadelphia’s KYW-AM, New York’s WBLS-FM, Chicago’s WTMX-FM and Tulsa’s KRMG-AM/FM.

Mason High School graduate Dan Patrick was nominated for Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year along with fellow Premiere Networks hosts Ryan Seacrest, Steve Harvey and Elvis Duran, plus Radio One’s Rickey Smiley.

Thomas said that Q102 program director Patti Marshall, “our biggest supporter and cheerleader, submitted our names without our knowledge, so this was a complete surprise. It's an honor to be nominated of course, but the greatest honor is to be able to serve this community and have fun on the radio every day.”

“We're thrilled with the station receiving a nomination as well,” Jordan said. “We work with an incredibly talented staff in every department that makes Q102 not only a successful radio station but an insanely fun place to go to every day."

Hubbard stations here have never won a Marconi, Marshall says. WKRQ-FM was a finalist in 2011 and 2012. WUBE-FM was a finalist  in 2007 and 2009. WREW-FM was a finalist in 2011.

Noncommercial Station of the Year nominees are KPCW-FM, Park City, Utah; WKAR-AM/FM, Detroit, Michigan; WSDP-FM, Plymouth/Canton, Michigan; WPSC-FM Wayne, New Jersey; and WSOU-FM, South Orange, New Jersey.

The NAB will present the awards for broadcasting excellence Oct. 1 in Atlanta during the annual Radio Show.  Here is the full list of Marconi finalists

John Kiesewetter, who has covered television and media for more than 35 years, has been working for Cincinnati Public Radio and WVXU-FM since 2015.