© 2023 Cincinnati Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Mayor-elect Cranley names committee chairs

Cincinnati  Mayor-elect John Cranley Friday released his list of city council committees and who will be the chairpersons of those committees.  The full Council could approve them Sunday. 

The new streetcar committee is scheduled to meet Monday at noon.  A press release said the group will "consider a proposal aimed at pausing streetcar spending and implementing a comprehensive, objective review of the project in order to determine the true cost of cancellation vs. continuation."

The full Council will meet Monday at 3 p.m. to consider the proposal from the streetcar committee.

Mayor-elect Cranley campaigned against the streetcar and vowed to stop the project is elected.


  • Budget and Finance Committee; Chair Charlie Winburn
    Jurisdiction: Budget, appropriations, bonds, financial reporting, federal and state grants, sale and lease of property, health, pension and tax policies.
  • Law and Public Safety Committee; Chair Christopher Smitherman
    Jurisdiction: Police, fire, safety policies, citizen complaint authority, and liquor licenses.
  • Neighborhoods Committee; Chair David Mann
    Jurisdiction: Zoning, planning neighborhood corridors, utility planning, neighborhood business districts, parks and recreation, housing, Neighborhood Enhancement Program, and community councils.
  • Education and Entrepreneurship Committee; Chair PG Sittenfeld
    Jurisdiction: Education, Pre-School Promise, community colleges, university relations, CPS relationship, SBE, small business, venture capital (Cintrifuse, Brandery, etc.), entrepreneurialism, business start-up incubation, workforce development, and job training.
  •  Human Services, Youth and Arts Committee; Chair Yvette Simpson
    Jurisdiction: Human Services, youth issues, summer jobs, homelessness, poverty task force, arts and culture.
  •  Major Transportation and Regional Cooperation Committee; Chair Amy Murray
    Jurisdiction: Major transportation and infrastructure projects including, but not limited to, Eastern Corridor, 1-71/MLK Interchange, I-75 Corridor, public transit, Shared Services, SORTA, Hamilton County TID, OKI, DCI, tourism, marketing and special events, and the Chamber of Commerce.
  • Economic Growth and Infrastructure Committee; Chair Christopher Smitherman
    Jurisdiction: Development Agreements, residential and commercial development processes, inclusion policies, downtown development, casino development, Port Authority, Infrastructure and GO Cincinnati.
  •  Rules and Audit Committee; Chair Kevin Flynn
    Jurisdiction: Comprehensive Charter and election reform, Council rules and procedures, audit, City Manager appointment and review, and committee memberships.
  • Streetcar Committee; Chair David Mann
    Jurisdiction: Streetcar
Jay Hanselman brings more than 10 years experience as a news anchor and reporter to 91.7 WVXU. He came to WVXU from WNKU, where he hosted the local broadcast of All Things Considered. Hanselman has been recognized for his reporting by the Kentucky AP Broadcasters Association, the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists, and the Ohio AP Broadcasters.